Essential Oils for Pregnancy and Beyond

Essential Oils

Pregnancy was quite the learning experience. Looking back, I think I had it pretty easy (most of the time) and I owe a lot of that to my little friends…essential oils.

As you know, pregnant women have to be especially careful with what they ingest which is pretty crummy timing because we go through our fair share of aches, pains, nausea, anxiety, and more. I relied on essential oils for relief for many of these ailments.

If you’re pregnant, get your hands on some essential oils and feel better already… and the best part is that you will feel really good about taking such good care of you and your baby with natural plant medicine.

Here’s how essential oils saved my pregnant butt:

(All of the oils listed here are Doterra – my favorite and recommended brand)

Serenity (blend) – helped lull me to sleep and stay that way even at the end when nothing else worked. Now I use it on my baby when he’s fussy.

Coconut oil mixed with Immortelle (blend) – diminished my stretch marks. I was cocky enough to think that I was going to be one of the lucky few who don’t get them. One morning around my eighth month there they were – a couple dark purple streaks on my lower tummy and bright red ones down my upper belly.  I know they say that once they start you can’t stop them but I did. I still ended up with a few but I think it would have been way worse without these two little powerhouses. The bonus is you can also use it on your face too for any fine lines starting there.

On-guard (blend) – kept the germs away. This immune boosting blend fought off colds when they were starting like nothing else. It also shortened the one cold I did get. This is especially helpful if you have little germ factories running around, in my case it was my beautiful nephew, Hunter. I used it on both of us.

Digestzen (blend) – touched heartburn when nothing else could. At the end, it was so bad that nothing was going to help but giving birth. That said, I would have been much meaner pregnant lady without this oil. It helps with any kind of stomach upset. I think I went through 2 bottles.

Lemon – I used this one a lot during my nesting phase. It’s the perfect way to naturally clean your house without exposing you and your baby to chemicals. I use this one all the time pregnant or not. For some easy DIY cleaning recipes, don’t miss this post.

Deep Blue (rub) – soothes those muscle aches and pains. I’m blaming my aching body the strange sleep positions that seem to come along with the third trimester but whatever the cause – you don’t have to suffer. Ask your partner to rub it on and give you a little massage then lay back on your huge ridiculous pregnancy pillow and enjoy the warm/cold tingle.

Solace – for sore boob relief. I don’t know about you but this was unbearable for me at least in the first trimester. Solace helped.

Malealuca (aka tea tree) – when I thought I was getting a yeast infection this oil stopped it dead in it’s tracks overnight. There are many other uses for this one. It’s one of the most essential.

Breathe – to open up my airways. I was a little stuffy through my whole pregnancy due to swollen membranes but thanks to Breathe I was able to do just that. It was especially great at night.

Where to buy them:

Doterra oils are only available through personal consultants. I believe in them so much that I signed up to share them with the world. They are amazing. If you’re interested in buying Doterra you can do that here. There are many other brands out there but I have yet to find one that rivals the quality of Doterra. You can still find some decent ones – just be sure you’re getting 100% pure organic oils. And if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me.

Additional reading:

If you’re interested in learning more about using essential oils during your pregnancy, birth, and beyond I encourage you to read “Essential Oils for Pregnancy, Birth, and Babies” by Stephanie Fritz LM, CPM.

 

This blog has moved! If you liked this article and you want to see more great content visit www.hygealiving.com/blog or have them delivered direct to your inbox – sign up!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Essential Oils

One response to “Essential Oils for Pregnancy and Beyond

  1. Pingback: Makeover your Medicine Cabinet with Essential Oils | Hygea Health Bite

Leave a Reply

